• The Legislature

    Pursuant to HJR1192, the 108th General Assembly of the State of Tennessee stands in adjournment sine die at the close of business in both houses on April 17, 2014.
    The 109th Tennessee General Assembly will convene at noon on January 13, 2015

  • The Senate

    The state is divided into 33 senatorial districts, from each of which one senator is elected. Senators are elected to four-year terms with those from even-numbered districts being elected in the same general election, and those representing odd-numbered districts being elected two years later.

  • The House

    The larger house, and arguably the more representative one of Tennessee's bicameral legislature is called the House of Representatives. It occupies the largest space in the State Capitol known as the House Chamber seen at right. The state is divided into 99 House districts from each of which one representative is elected.